Tel: +254 20 2196944


The College of Ophthalmology of Eastern Central and Southern Africa (COECSA) is a registered specialized virtual college. The college was registered in 2012 after a merger between Eastern Africa College of Opthamologists (EACO) and Ophthalmological Society of Eastern Africa (OSEA). The aim of this college is to address the chronic shortage of ophthalmologists in Eastern, Central &Southern Africa as well as improve the quality of eye care services in the region.

COECSA’s mandate is: to contribute to Human Resources for Health (HRH) through quality training in ophthalmology; set standards for professional ophthalmic practice; facilitate continuous professional development; and, promote research which advances ophthalmology in the region.

Its establishment was informed by similar initiatives as those of the medical colleges in South Africa and United Kingdom. COECSA, however, aims to address the unique needs in Eastern, Central &Southern Africa, based on evidence and priorities identified in the region.

COECSA relates closely with other players in eye health and allied sectors through interventions in the Eastern, Central &Southern Africa region comprising Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Malawi, Ethiopia South Sudan (Republic) and Zambia.

COECSA is a constituent member college of the Eastern, Central &Southern Africa -College of Health Sciences (ECSA -CHS).